A puffin is born

I know that I haven’t posted anything in quite a long time, but when Eskimimi Makes announced the launch of Knitting and Crochet Blog Week 2014 it seemed like the perfect time to share something new.  That something happens to be my Puffin jumper, which is now completely finished, and that I absolutley adore.  It is my favourite thing that I have ever knitted!

Image

Image

The pattern is Puffin, by Kate Davies and is published in her wonderful Colours of Shetland book.  I knit mine using SMC Select extra soft merino cotton for the body and a single skein of Noro Silk Garden Sock for the yoke.  The pattern uses different colours to make up the stripes in the yoke, but for me this was all about the Noro.  It is the first time I have ever used it, as normally a yarn like that would be far out of my budget, but I was given this skein as a gift.  I hid it in my stash, waiting for the perfect pattern to come along, when I realised that I already had the perfect pattern, it just hadn’t occurred to me before.  I love the how it turned out – the yoke in the 34″ size was just right to match up with the colour changes in the Noro.  Kate’s pattern is wonderfully written and easy to follow, and the jumper fits me like a glove.

4 thoughts on “A puffin is born

  1. Pingback: Using every last bit | Stitching on a shoestring

Leave a Reply

